IMB Centre for Pain Research

Professor Richard Lewis  

Director

Research area: Pharmacology of marine toxins

Keywords: chronic pain; peptides; drug discovery; drug development

Email: r.lewis@imb.uq.edu.au

View Professor Lewis' Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Dr Irina Vetter

Deputy Director

Research area: Understanding pain pathways

Keywords: chronic pain; toxins; ion channels; neuropathy; irritable bowel syndrome; drug discovery; drug development

Email: i.vetter@imb.uq.edu.au

View Dr Vetter's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor Paul Alewood

Investigator

Research area: Design and discovery of bioactive peptides and proteins in venomous animals

Keywords: chronic pain; irritable bowel syndrome; congestive heart failure; insecticides; drug discovery; drug development

Email: p.alewood@imb.uq.edu.au

View Professor Alewood's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor Rob CaponProfessor Rob Capon

Investigator

Research area: Molecular biodiscovery: learning from nature

Keywords: Alzheimer's disease; Parkinson's disease; malaria; tuberculosis; bacterial/fungal/parasitic infections; pain; obesity

Email: r.capon@imb.uq.edu.au

View Professor Capon's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor Matt Cooper

Investigator

Research area: Drugs and diagnostics for superbugs, viruses and cancer

Keywords: superbugs; antibiotics; tuberculosis; dengue fever; inflammation; drug discovery; drug development; 

Email: m.cooper@imb.uq.edu.au

View Professor Cooper's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor David CraikProfessor David Craik

Investigator

Research area: Protein structure in drug and insecticide design

Keywords: chronic pain; cardiovascular disease; drug discovery; drug development; cyclic peptides; cyclotides; 

Email: d.craik@imb.uq.edu.au

View Professor Craik's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor David FairlieProfessor David Fairlie

Investigator

Research area: Chemistry and human therapeutics

Keywords: inflammatory disease; viral infections; Alzheimer's disease; cardiovascular diseases; type 2 diabetes; obesity

Email: d.fairlie@imb.uq.edu.au

View Professor Fairlie's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor Glenn KingProfessor Glenn King

Investigator

Research area: Bugs and drugs

Keywords: chronic pain; stroke; biotechnology; insect venom; insecticides; agriculture

Email: glenn.king@imb.uq.edu.au

View Professor King's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor Mark SmytheAssociate Professor Mark Smythe 

Investigator

Research area: Combinatorial chemistry and molecular design Keywords: asthma; leukaemia; inflammatory bowel disease; peptides; drug discovery; drug development

Email: m.smythe@imb.uq.edu.au

 

 

Associate Professor Rohan TeasdaleAssociate Professor Rohan Teasdale

Investigator

Research area: Endosomal dynamics and pathogen invasion Keywords: infectious disease; Salmonella bacteria; Alzheimer's disease; Parkinson's disease

Email: r.teasdale@imb.uq.edu.au

View Associate Professor's Chief Investigator Profile.

 

Professor Maree Smith

Professor Maree Smith

Investigator

IMB Adjunct, Director, Centre for Integrated Preclinical Drug Development, Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, UQ

Research area: Opiod pharmacology and neuropathic pain

Email: maree.smith@uq.edu.au

View Professor Maree Smith's Chief Investigator Profile.